It Came Upon a Midnight Clear by Suzanne Brockmann

It Came Upon a Midnight Clear Cover

Intensely emotional and sexy read

It Came Upon a Midnight Clear (Tall, Dark & Dangerous, Book 6) by Suzanne Brockmann

Reading Level: Adult Contemporary Romance
Release Date: November 1, 1998
Publisher: Silhouette; First Edition
Pages: 256 pages
Source: Library
Reviewed By: Kate McMurry

Navy SEAL Billy “Crash” Hawken was practically raised by his cousin Daisy and her common-law husband, Admiral Jake Robinson, after his mother died when he was ten years old, and his uncaring father neglected him. In his adult life, he is closer to them than anyone on earth. Then he learns that Daisy has an inoperable brain tumor. Getting through the tragedy of Daisy’s last days on earth is made both more difficult and more bearable by living under the same roof with beautiful, sensitive Nell Burns, Daisy’s personal assistant. Crash works for “grey ops,” super-secret missions as an assassin, with Jake as his direct supervisor. He is out of the country most of the time, and he feels he is a terrible prospect for any woman as a long-term mate. Until meeting Nell, he’s never had any trouble maintaining emotional distance, but the combination of Daisy’s final illness and Nell’s empathy and compassion has him breaking all the rules he’s set for himself, and massively falling for Nell. With extreme difficulty, he convinces himself as much as Nell that he has nothing to offer her and drives her away.

Crash ignores every attempt Nell makes to contact him for an entire year. Then she suddenly views on the evening news Crash’s arrest for the murder of Jake Robinson. Strong evidence is stacked against Crash, but Nell has not a single doubt of his innocence, and she is determined to prove it to the world, even though Crash tells her to stay out of it when she visits him in prison.

This book is memorable on two counts. First, we get to experience Crash and Nell, an amazing couple. I fell in love with both of them, and the passion and tenderness between them is mind-bogglingly intense.

Second, it is great to experience the backstory of another one of Brockmann’s amazing heroes, Admiral Jake. He is the hero of The Admiral’s Bride, which is the next book in this wonderful SEAL series.

These books do not absolutely have to be read in order, but readers will definitely get an extra impact from the series if they are, because we get to know individual SEALs little by little across the series before each has his own book, and plot lines from one book often feed into another. In the case of this book, the events of the book just prior to this one, Harvard’s Education, are highly significant to the suspense plot.

This is the order in which this series was first released:

  1. Prince Joe, originally published June 1996
  2. Forever Blue, originally published October 1996
  3. Frisco’s Kid, originally published January 1997
  4. Everyday, Average Jones, originally published August 1998
  5. Harvard’s Education, originally published October 1998
  6. It Came Upon a Midnight Clear, originally published December 1998
  7. The Admiral’s Bride, originally published November 1999
  8. Identity: Unknown, originally published January 2000
  9. Get Lucky , originally published March 2000
  10. Taylor’s Temptation, originally published July 2001
  11. Night Watch, originally published September 2003

I rate this book as follows:

Heroine: 5

Hero: 5

Romance Plot: 5

Action-Adventure Plot: 5

Writing: 5

Overall: 5

(Visited 7 times, 1 visits today)