Night Watch by Suzanne Brockmann

Night Watch Cover

Review of Kindle Edition, reissue of 2003 short contemporary romance

Night Watch (Tall, Dark & Dangerous, #11) by Suzanne Brockmann

Reading Level: Adult Contemporary Romance
Release Date: September 1, 2003
Publisher: Silhouette; First Edition
Pages: 249 pages
Source: Library
Reviewed By: Kate McMurry

This book was originally released as No. 11 of the Tall, Dark & Dangerous Series published in 2003 by the Silhouette Intimate Moments, short, contemporary romance line from Harlequin. It has been re-released several times, most recently in Kindle format. I was a big fan of this series a decade ago, and it is a pleasure to re-read these books now on my Kindle Fire. This book is well edited and formatted.

Brittany Evans is a nurse in her early 30’s with a 19-year-old baseball prodigy and former troubled teen as her adopted son, Andy (we first met him and Brittany in Everyday, Average Jones when Andy was 12). Her sister Melody is married to Harlan “Cowboy” Jones, one of the members of the SEAL team that 32-year-old U.S. Navy SEAL Chief Wes Skelly belongs to. Melody sets up Brittany on a blind date with Wes, and neither Brittany nor Wes expects it to lead to anything, but an unexpectedly strong physical attraction, coupled with an honest, real friendship based in mutual respect and liking, has both of them wondering if their connection could become something much deeper.

I enjoyed this book the second time around, something that doesn’t always happen for me as I seem to become a more jaded and picky reader with every year that goes by. This book holds up well for its age, even though technology has advanced from 10 years ago.

Brittany is a very strong heroine, and Wes is what is known as a “wounded hero,” but not in a sappy way. The main attraction of a short, contemporary romance is the journey, not the destination, because the destination is guaranteed, a terrific, satisfying, happily ever after. This particular journey has great emotional depth between the two lovers, as well as an exciting action-adventure plot in which Wes attempts to foil a dangerous stalker threatening the younger sister of the wife of one of his fellow SEALs.

As is expected in each book of Brockmann’s based on SEALs, there is an exciting, action-packed climax. Not only does Wes show his chops as a member of SEAL Team Ten, but Brittany also shows herself to be a strong fighter and survivor, full of the physical and moral courage required in a woman who aspires to be the significant other of a warrior in a very dangerous profession.

It’s not essential to read the 11 books in Brockmann’s Tall, Dark and Dangerous series in order, but it greatly adds to one’s enjoyment to do so. Each book sets up the book to follow it, pulling to the forefront the SEAL who is the hero of the next book. This is the order in which this series was first released:

  1. Prince Joe, originally published June 1996
  2. Forever Blue, originally published October 1996
  3. Frisco’s Kid, originally published January 1997
  4. Everyday, Average Jones, originally published August 1998
  5. Harvard’s Education, originally published October 1998
  6. It Came Upon a Midnight Clear, originally published December 1998
  7. The Admiral’s Bride, originally published November 1999
  8. Identity: Unknown, originally published January 2000
  9. Get Lucky, originally published March 2000
  10. Taylor’s Temptation, originally published July 2001
  11. Night Watch, originally published September 2003

I rate this book as follows:

Heroine: 5

Hero: 5

Romance Plot: 5

Action-Adventure Plot: 5

Writing: 5

Overall: 5

(Visited 4 times, 1 visits today)